Dunkirk (2017) : Film review

Rated a 12A

Starring : Cillian Murphy, Fionn Whitehead, Aneurin Barnard, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy, Jack Lowden, Barry Keoghan , Harry Styles

My rating: 10 / 10

A woeful, tragic yet heroically inspiring tale of 400,000 brave soldiers stuck on Dunkirk beach in WW2 and when they couldn’t get home and all signs of hope were running out, Home came for them.

This film is my favourite so far this year. I’m officially saying that. No matter if your a history enthusiast or not this film will undoubtable move you. It’s incredibly intense with barely any dialogue and many nameless characters ; you will find yourself empathising with each man more than any other movie. It demonstrates the bravery and clear suffering of the men , while showing their controversial fear of facing society again, while being totally respectful of every death and life lost to this heroic cause.

At the end of the film I couldn’t stop crying. Every shot is award worthy and action packed so that your heart doesn’t beat regularly for the full duration making us perhaps have a inkling of the terror these men were experiencing. I will probably never do this beacon of a film justice with this tiny review, nor the men that this really happen to back in 1940, but if I can have  hand in shedding the light and glory of everyone of them I will be happy to try.

I do not have any criticism or negative feedback for this film and do not recommend by implore you to watch this to enrich your knowledge with history but from the point of view of the people. Because honestly … it makes you wish nothing bad would ever happen to any person on this planet again, and I only saw a representation of the real events that happened not so very long ago.

Then to top it all off, I went home and spoke to my granny only to find her dad (who is now sadly passed) fought at Dunkirk. Many more tears were shed.

Really ,really hope you watch this guys, it genuinely has inspired me to change as a person. Thank for reading

SortingThroughX

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. dtills says:

    I wanted to see this before your review, now I am sure I need to get there soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely should! Tell me what you think when you have ? xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

